A tragedy waiting to happen

2135819157Johannesburg – One by one they pen their accounts, which read like multiple tragedies waiting to happen. “At 34 weeks pregnant and doing a 24-hour shift, I drew blood on one of the last patients I was seeing. “Exhausted, I sustained a needle-stick injury of a high-risk HIV patient. “The stress, the ARVs and everything that went with it could have easily been avoided if I was not already seeing double after working such long hours.” Signed, anonymous.

The next reads: “I was involved in a motor vehicle accident (the only accident I have ever had) when I was post call in my community service year…..more

Leave a Comment

