One woman’s drive to encourage home grown vegetables to save money and stay healthy

As South Africa marks Women’s Day today, one woman in Vhembe, Limpopo is making a positive difference to community by promoting the benefits of home vegetable gardens.

Small vegetable gardens, Mavis Mafune believes, are an important way to encourage the local community to eat healthy, fresh food and serve as a way to help in situations of poverty.

Mafune was diagnosed as HIV positive last year, and advised to eat more vegetables and fruit in order to stay healthy.

”Most people do not believe me when I tell them that I am living with HIV, because I look good and healthy. My secret is that I eat fresh vegetables from the small garden I have started at my home,” she said…..more

Leave a Comment

